Shoulder - Functional Internal Rotation Incomplete

Hello guys,

So I finally decided to create a topic about this as I have been having issues with my right shoulder for way too long now. I’m not a beginner lifter, I have been lifting for about 5 years and I can say that I’m familiar with the exercises so it’s definitely not things like bad form.

Let me tell you how it started - I injured it playing football, suffered a sudden fall to the ground and used my right hand to absorb the impact, hence all the tension went through my right shoulder. Shoulder injured, I was resting, and then I hurled a pillow in a sort of across-the-body movement from the right to the left and I could hear multiple cracks in the shoulder and that was it.

I went to see an orthopaedic doctor and he said that fortunately there was nothing wrong with the rotator cuff, it’s just the glenohumeral ligaments and I would have to keep my right arm in a sling for 7-10 days, which I have done then. This was back at the end of April. Now it’s been about 2 months since I went to the doctor.

There was a period of one month since that consultation when there was no lifting or any sports activity whatsoever, only rest + drug treatment. Then I got back into lifting on 23rd of May and I’ve been lifting since. I could not say I had a great difficulty doing any exercise, but with some of them I had some discomfort / avoided them, such as:

• lat pulldowns - at the top of the movement, it was like I could feel the weight pulling my shoulder out of the socket
  • chest flys with dumbbells - sometimes I felt pain in the shoulder towards the bottom of the movement
  • dips - didn’t even dare to try them, I reckon it would have been a terrible idea