T Nation

Shoulder Discomfort - Imbalances?

First of all, I would like to thank google for allowing me to stumble across T-Nation. I started lifting 9 months ago for freshman football and just now was seeking information.

Recently, my right shoulder was uncomfortable while benching so I searched in google and found this site. After doing some reading I realized that my idiot football coach wasn’t having us do ANY Rows. He also wasn’t having us do any deadlifts and the only back workouts we ever did was the occasional pull-up.

So, my question:
Could benching without doing any rows cause this shoulder discomfort? If so, should I stop benching altogether while I work on my rows or just go light on the bench?

Thanks in advance.

Yes it could. Your back and chest muscles can become imbalanced by doing extensive chest work and no back work. Also, benching pronates (pushes out) your scapula and rows and things pull back your scapula. If you aren’t doing back work your scapula can actually slowly tilt frontwards because of the imbalance and that may be what you’re experiencing now. I hope I didn’t make that sound awful, but you should definately change what you’re doing. Check out Eric Cresseys “Shoulder Savers” articles and start doing some rows.

[quote]Skrussian wrote:
Yes it could. Your back and chest muscles can become imbalanced by doing extensive chest work and no back work. Also, benching pronates (pushes out) your scapula and rows and things pull back your scapula. If you aren’t doing back work your scapula can actually slowly tilt frontwards because of the imbalance and that may be what you’re experiencing now. I hope I didn’t make that sound awful, but you should definately change what you’re doing. Check out Eric Cresseys “Shoulder Savers” articles and start doing some rows. [/quote]

Thanks.