Shoulder/Bicep Issue

Hello to whoever is knowledgeable among you on this issue. I’ll try to make this short and sweet…

I swam competitively for most of my life, and I started lifting weights when I was only ten years old as part of my swim program. Around the age of 18, I became more interested in lifting for its aesthetic benefits, and I worked myself quickly into a state of overtraining. I overtrained to the point where I could not sleep more than 2 hours in a row without waking up; my calf muscles would frequently crap when I pushed off the walls; and my joints ached constantly unless I had a pump. During this state of overtraining, I completed a set of clean and jerks and felt something… shift in my shoulder. I never had a shoulder injury in all my years of swimming and lifting under my father’s tutelage, but after that I had a lot of trouble with that shoulder. After a significant amount of rest, I recuperated from overtraining, but the shoulder issue remained. I could still do pull-ups and bench press, but my bicep seemed like it was really easy to damage. For example, if I pulled too hard while I was in the water, or someone grabbed my right hand and pulled suddenly on it, I would immediately feel a loosening of my bicep, followed a little while later by (1) an inability to get a good contraction of my right bicep, (2) tension in my brachioradialis, and (3) a looseness in my shoulder capsule that made it extremely difficult to stabilize during exercises like the bench press or pull-up.