T Nation

Shoulder Attack

I’ve been lifting for about 4 years now and cant seem to put size on my shoulders if anyone out there can help a girl out here and kindly give me some much needed advice that would be great…

overhead presses. Both BB’s and DB’s.

Lateral and bent DB raises.

If you have a rear double-bi pic that would help identify any weakness. From that pic you seem to have very nicely developed anterior delts. If you’re unhappy I suspect the lateral and posterior heads must need work. It’s often difficult to isolate the mid and rear delts once the anterior head becomes too strong. It tends to take over and deprive the target muscles you’re trying to work.

Doing very strict isolation exercises will help but you have to start with such light loads it’s hard to stimulate growth. Although I hate to recommend a smith machine for anything I do use it for partially bent-over rows and high pulls. It allows you to use more weight since you don’t need to balance and can focus on contracting the upper back and traps at the top of the lift.

That and lots of lateral raises should get you on track. I’m sure you know this by now but you should expect some rather severe lactic acid pain while working the delts. I’ve often been amazed at how hard I “thought” I trained my shoulders only to have no soreness the following days. These muscles seem to need a beating to stimulate any growth in size or strength.

Good luck and let us know how you’re progressing. BTW, you look fantastic!

Thanks a million for the info…this is the only pic i could download hope this will help to get a better perspective on the back side…

Take a look at HSS-100: Shoulder Specialization and Blood on the Barbell by Christian Thibaudeau for some examples.

I’ve always liked the shoulder tri-set of DB side raise 6-10 reps, no rest, into DB or BBL press 6-10 reps, no rest into upright rows 6-10 reps.

Repeat 3 times for a total of 9 sets (3x3).

Maybe 4-6 weeks should do it, once every 5 days.