Should I Use Orthodox or Southpaw Stance?

i did my first boxing class today, working with an instructor, and initially i started with a southpaw stance because the hand positioning felt more natural to me, the instructor had me try orthodox since i am naturally right handed. He said my footwork as orthodox was much more natural and fluid, but that i punched like a girl when standing orthodox, and punched quite a bit harder when standing southpaw.

On the other hand when standing southpaw he said i just tend to kind of stand there, and when i do back up or dodge i’m almost tripping over my own feet. Which should i do? learn to punch orthodox stance, or work on my footwork in southpaw stance. Keep in mind i’m just a beginner and don’t really know what i’m talking about, i’m going on what the instructor was telling me. He wants me to switch to orthodox, but i’d prefer to stay southpaw.

I think too what might be screwing me up is i did alot of taekwondo as a kid, and in taekwondo there was alot of stance switching involved, after many kicks or punches were thrown you’d just sort of switch your stance back and forth as you threw roundhouse kicks or even some punches. although its been 15 years since I trained taekwondo this is about the only explanation i can think of.

I would reccomend you box orthodox.

Fight however your feet are more comfortable.

I’m a natural righty, but in athletic endeavors - baseball, hockey, golf, pretty much anything where I have to hold anything - I’ve always been a lefty. Naturally that carried over the boxing.

I can punch with my right hand - fairly well too - but I can’t move at all because my feet can’t handle the orthodox stance. So I’m a southpaw.

Follow your feet. Footwork and stance is the most important thing in the sport, and if you start off backwards on those you’ll never go anywhere.

Like literally, you won’t be able to move.