T Nation

Should I Do More Sets?

Hi,

Currently I’m doing 3 sets to 75% of failure, 3 times a week. I do full body workouts and one gym session lasts about 40 minutes.

Will increasing the amount of sets from 3 to let’s say 5 and still do each set close to failure give me better results?

Regardless, I am applying progressive overload by either increasing the load or reps.

Will more sets close to failure build more muscle faster than 3 sets to near failure? Or is it enough to do 3 sets to near failure? I would be progressively increasing load or reps regardless.

Thanks

did you try the best damn workout by Christian thibodeau ? look like your kind of approach ! you should take a look at

Never heard of that workout but I’ve just read up on it and it’s very close indeed to what I have been doing for the past 14 years, even from when looking at the exercises mentioned. What I have always done is gradually increase the load over time.

I was basically wondering if doing more sets will build muscle faster. But the article (https://www.t-nation.com/training/the-best-damn-workout-plan-for-natural-lifters) mentions that it is better to keep volume low and workout more often when you’re a natural lifter (which I have always been) to allow protein synthesis to be greater than breakdown. So according to the article the answer to my question would be to keep doing three sets per muscle per workout and work each muscle 3 to 4 times a week. So as long as I am applying progressive overload doing more reps or increasing the load over time, I will build muscle and doing more sets will not accelerate the process.

1 Like

you answer your own question hehe

have a good day !

What does this mean?

It’s entirely pointless to discuss increasing sets without knowing how many exercises and reps you’re doing in each session throughout the week. What does your plan currently look like?