T Nation

Should I Bulk or Cut? 15 Years Old

Hey guys, I'm 15 and ive been bulking for the past 2 months. Went from 173 lbs to about 195. I've been bulking, and surprisingly enough, havent added even an inch to my waist. I started, however, kinda chubby with around 15% body fat. Now im probably around 13% or so. I want to have ripped abs and be generally ripped for summer but I also really want that big strong bulky body for football/basketball. I've been confused for awhile and I'm just wondering if it's even necessary to lose much weight to achieve the lean-ness i want? I've heard about 10% is really good for athletes hence that's my goal. 10% body fat, and being over 200 lbs. To achieve this, should I cut now or bulk more until im around 210?

To get to 200 @ 10%, you're probably going to need to bulk to at least 220 @15%. It's really too late to worry about this summer, so shoot for next summer or even a couple years down the road. I know you want it NOW, but if you get caught up in the bulk/cut/bulk/cut bullshit, it'll take you a lot longer to reach your big goals.

Continue with a bulk, try to make it clean. That's about the best you're gonna do for this summer.

You're fifteen frakking bulk. Do it cleanish as suggested and just get as big and strong as you can. For years.

You should go with something you can follow, and make your diet clean. It's not unreasonable for you to hit a considerably lower bodyfat and gain muscle at your age if you simply clean up your diet and add in some hill sprints, etc..

why is it people even here still believe in that old fashioned myth, that you can't get bigger and more lean at the same time. my god, people do it all the time. you don't have to bulk, then cut. that approach is oldddd and no longer necessary. you can get bigger and more lean at the same time.

You've put on 20lbs while dropping some fat.

Why ask for advice? Don't change a thing.