T Nation

Should I Be Doing Split Workouts?

Hello all,
I am new to weightlifting as I have only been lifting since 6/1/09. Since then I have been doing full body workouts and still am to this day. I have heard different things about full body and split workouts and I am lost. Currently my workouts are Monday, Wednesday, Friday and they consist of Bench Press, DB Bicep Curls, DB Forearm Curls(for lacrosse), Rows, Tricep Dips, Calf Extensions and Squats.

Heres some numbers that you guys usually ask for:
Height: 5'8
Weight: 165 lbs
Bench: 145lbs
Squat: 200lbs

So basically if I should be splitting my workouts, how would I go about doing so? I've heard talk about upper and lower body days, days for specific muscle groups, etc and I am completely lost.

In addition, I play lacrosse so I would like to get Bigger, Faster and Stronger. But I was wondering during lacrosse season in the fall I will have practice 3x a week and about 5 games throughout the fall. Come spring time practice is everyday and about 15 games on the season, anywhere from 1-2 per week. Once I establish a workout split plan, what should I go about doing during lacrosse season in both the fall and spring so come when season is over, its not like I'm starting over lifting again?

All help is appreciated and feel free to PM me anything you think will help. Sample workout splits, etc would be GREAT.

On a side note, how do ya'll keep track of your workouts? Logs? Paper/Pen? Notebook?

End post...finally.

for keeping track of your workouts, spreadsheets are the best thing for me. You can't lose it anywhere, put it some place and forget where it is, can't damage it. Plus, it looks neat and organized.

WS4SB

Thanks for the idea deadsion. Fuzzyapple, sorry but what??

West Side For Skinny Bastards. Its a good athletic program to start for a split.

Logs on index cards.