T Nation

Shoes for Lifting? Nike Romaleos?

OK, I'm still a newb but I was thinking that as I get more serious about lifting, I would buy a pair of weight lifting shoes, as long as they aren't chucks. I was really looking at the Romaleos, because they are down to $130, my parents will prob by them for me, and well, I'm a whore for pretty Nike products.

I really want to get into olympic lifting, but haven't been able to find a reliable coach in the columbus area to help me train, so I just do lower weight versions with my (probably terrible) form.

However, I have been squatting/dlifting/pressing/benching/rowing a lot, would these shoes offer any advantage over any other random shoe? Specifically about squatting? I mean, if these shoes were great for oly lifting AND weight training, were reliable and would last me quite a bit of time, and were pretty, I'd pretty much be sold

Any comments on these shoes or any other models that you recommend?

i have seen a lot of people like to lift in chuck taylors.

there's nothing wrong with chucks.

Personally I wouldnt do the olympic lifts unless you can get proper coaching, you can injure yourself far too easily.

IF you want proper lifting shoes look into

Adidas Ironwork
Adidas Adistar weightlifting shoes
or the Do-Win weightlifting shoe

It seems to have a significantly elevated heel, like other lifting shoes. Which would be be good for squats and a disaster for deads, no?

Very true, but you are allowed two pairs of lifting shoes....deadlift in chucks, squat with heels.....Or forget them both and do it all in socks/barefeet

BULLSHIT! nothing wrong with teaching yourself OLY's

I just got myself a pair of chucks and am absolutely loving them, even for squats...

chucks are like $35. go with them. plus they are cool to wear around when not lifting.

So Nike Romaleos are BAD for deadlifting? Is there anything else I should know(are they bad for anything else)? Why would they be bad for deadlifting?