Shin Splints vs. Stress Fractures

Lately, I just started training with a new coach and team and the training has been pretty intense for the whole 3 weeks that I’ve been here so far. In the past I’ve experienced shin splints but in the past the training hasn’t been as intense or as frequent (6 days a week - supposed to be 2 workouts a day).

So about a week after I started training in this new program, my shin splints came back - hardcore. So basically right now, the shin splints are so bad that when I wake up in the morning, even before I get out of bed I can feel the pain right around medial/posterior of my tibia with the most tender area being towards the bottom.

I’ve been using a DARD (tibialis anterior strengthening devise), I’ve been stretching my tibialis anterior and my calves, I bought a new pair of running shoes, and yesterday I went to get acupuncture for the problem. I think it worked to a certain extent because I woke up pain free this morning but as soon as I started my warm-up jog for today’s workout, I could feel them coming back and getting progressively worse.

The only thing I’ve found that works for the pain is ibuprofen.

So my question is, are stress fractures essentially what you get in really severe cases of shin splints? And how can you tell when severe shin splints become stress fractures? I’m guessing that since the ibuprofen helps the problem (temporarily) they haven’t become stress fractures.

And yes, I did do a search for shin splints but everybody’s cases I found in the archives were fixed with new running shoes, a DARD, or massage.

Well, I’m glad to see you’ve done your research concerning this issue and it’s all on the right track. So, with that being said I can only recommend a few things which are based purely on my own experience with shin splints.

1. The only way you’re going to differentiate splints vs. stress fx’s is an x-ray study. Go to the doc and get them done to rule it out.