Shin protection while deadlifting

I’ve been working out for 3 years now and I love to deadlift. As a matter of fact, I’m the only hardcore lifter in my gym that bothers to deadlift and squat(lol…punny navy guys). But the problem is the bloody shins part. My girlfriend thinks they’re disgusting and now they’re starting to hinder my performance. I know that you’re supposed to keep the weight as close to your body but it gets tougher every week as I go up in weight. I’ve tried wearing long socks that cover my shins but they dont help much. I was even thinking about getting some soccer shin guards. What do you guys (or girls) do?

I posted a suggestion on the Cyberpump site a couple years ago to some one asking the same question. Basically I said to use soccer shin guards. Use the ones that give full coverage – you don’t want the bar to hook a kneecap on the way past. You could also use something similar to what baseball catchers use. These aren’t legal for competition, but could definitely save some skin. I personally don’t have a problem with this, even though my legs are fairly long (maybe I use too much forward lean, I don’t know). You could try doing sumo style, or a T-bar deadlift. The T-bar dead is done sumo style with a home-made bar – basically a T with a threaded end cap to hold the plates on. The description might still be on the Cyberpump site, so you could search there.

I would look at form. I have coached a few lifters who had this problem. Generally they were pulling the bar back into their shins as soon as the leaves the ground. You are doing the right thing by keeping your weight back and the bar close to your legs, but remember you are lifting the bar up, not toward you. Lighten the weight abit and see if you can solve the problem. If you cannot avoid really digging the bar into your shins, there are some specific socks for the purpose. I think Inzer makes some. Regular sock wont work well.
Good Luck