Shin Positioning for Deadlift

Hey guys I’ve been noticing that a lot of big pullers start with their shins about an inch or so off the bar, and the bar never really touches their legs during the lift…sometimes i wonder if my shins are too close, and if my hips are a little low, and just about my overall positioning at the start of the lift. What do you think?

Out of curiosity, which record pullers do you know of that keep the bar an inch away from their shins?

well i notice jim wendler pulls like that, and so does brian carroll…go watch brian carroll’s deadlift technique video the bar doesnt even come close haha i was watching some random ass guy too that i subscribe to who just pulled 722 at 220 BW and he does that too.

I’m no expert, but I start in roughly the same start position as you. I’m guessing here, but I think we’re similar body types, and that’s what works best for me. I’ve read many times that your set up should have the bar lined up off of the shins, about mid-foot. I almost never get scrapes on my shins when I pull conventional, and I think that you and I have a similar body type.

My only thing that I can say about your form is this - it’s hard to tell, but it looks like you don’t quite get your hips fully forward right at the top of the movement. I know that in some of the stricter feds you may get red-lighted for not pulling your hips through - especially on a real slow grinder of a PR lift. I’m not sure if you’re worried about that, it’s such a small detail.

Great pull - it takes a lot of hard work to get up to that kind of weight!

Don’t mind my quick hijack of this thread…

OP could you share your deadlift routine?

Okay hijack complete.