Shift Work & Eating

Being a university student, I work two shifts a week for a bit of spending money and to keep the Ps happy. I’m a bartender, and therefore, my shifts are usually say from 7pm to 1am or 8pm to 2am. I get a break in the middle of this. Should I be eating in this break? Typically, I have my last meal of the day before I go to work (around 6 - 7pm). I’m thinking that it would be a better idea to take a drink bottle with a ready made shake and store it in the fridge, so I can have it during my break? If I should be eating at this time (around 10 - 11pm), should it be a carb/protein or protein/fat meal? Protein/fat shakes are pretty disgusting, especially when left in the fridge and then re-shaken after a few hours. Therefore, maybe a carb/protein meal? Help would be appreciated, because I don’t want my long drink-mixing and beer pulling shifts to become catabolic (despite the fact I’m cutting at the moment).

Big Bruva…I would definitely have something to eat/drink during your break. Whether it be a shake (could be pro/carb or pro/fat) or it could even be a meal. That’s an awful long time to go without food/protein. I just started working a job as a cashier at a grocery store, and my shifts are usually 6 hours with a break smack dab in the middle. I’ll take a food meal to eat during the break and also a shake to have right when I get to work or as soon as I can sneak off for a restroom break. I always follow the stand-by of eating every two to three hours.

WHats up fella…I’m in the same boat, i also go to school and work every night from 5-11…(i’m a supperviser at a Dell call center doing tech support, so if any of you t-men wanna call and mess with some techs, have at it) I eat all of my carb meals earily in the day then pack a something for my break. I also pre-make a pro shake with flax in it. it is not the best tasting stuff, but hell, after a while you will have trouble falling asleep at night if you don;t have you pro&flax. it kinda grows on ya