SHBG & Increasing Free Test?

I have a question.  I am a pretty healthy 50 year old, and I have been lifting 3 days per week for the last six months.  I have not seen the results that I had hoped for at this point.  A pharmacist friend told me that I should have my testosterone levels tested.  I did, and I got good and bad news.  The good news is that my testosterone level is 700, which is not too bad for a 50 year old guy.  The bad news is that my Sex Hormone Binding Globulin (SHBG) level is also high - 100 nmol/L (normal is 15-50).

From my understanding, having a high SHBG is bad because it binds to my testosterone and renders it useless. The result for me is that I have very little “free testosterone” (testosterone not bound by the SHBG).

Does anyone have a recommendation on how I can increase my level of free testosterone?

do you drink alcohol?

I used to drink, but I stopped about 3 years ago.

How is your diet?

Are you getting sufficient sleep?

Are you squatting and deadlifting?

How much sugar are you ingesting?

Have you done a glucose test ?

Did you lift a day before the SHBG test?

How is your diet? I eat 5-6 small meals each day. Approximately 40% protein, 40% carbs, 20% fats. I try to only eat clean foods. I may not be getting enough calories.

Are you getting sufficient sleep? 6 1/2 to 7 1/2 each night.

Are you squatting and deadlifting? Lunges only. I have a bad lower back.

How much sugar are you ingesting? Very little.

Have you done a glucose test ? No

Did you lift a day before the SHBG test? I’m not sure if I did or not.

Thanks for your help! I look forward to your reply.

I will start checking does calories and try to meet your requirements,( I am going to give you a suggestion why don’t you change your macros to 40% 30% 30%, its easier to comply.)

Try to sleep before 11:00
Try to squeeze a nap (it;s good for you)

How many calories are you getting?

Have you tried trap bar deadlifts ?

How long have you been training?