T Nation

Shattering Old PR's with 5/3/1

Jim, a sincere thank you; from Hilliard, OH

As a little guy, 5'9, 170lbs, I decided it was time to make a change. I was tired of being "small". 5,000 clean calories a day for 8 weeks and your 5/3/1 program saw astonishing results. Granted not all was muscle, I realize this, but I tracked my numbers daily and my weight increased to 196 lbs while bodyfat increased from 7.2% to 9.2% at it's highest. I've since scaled the cal's back in weeks 9-12, down to maintenance 2,800, and I'm hovering around 190lbs at 8.7%. I have been lifting for four years now and I've never experienced gains like this. I got a late start in the iron game, as I am turning 30 this month. I was 150 lbs at age 26.

Deadlift 1RM was 360 raw. That is now 405x3.
Bench 1RM was an embarrassing 225 raw. That is now 225x5 & 255x1.
Squat 1RM was 315 raw. That is now 335x6.

I know at my weight my totals are not impressive by any means, but they are a start and I am extremely happy with the progress. Thank you for your contribution to the weight lifting world and putting your ideas on paper.

This new found success has me motivated enough to try competing. I'm going to get my feet wet for the first time on October 31st in Springfield at the Ohio State Powerlifting meet. I have no clue what I'm doing but I figure if I don't challenge myself I'll never experience anything worth while so I'm just going to "dive in" head first.

A sincere thank you for sharing 5/3/1 with the rest of us.

Before and after pics.........170 lbs is in white, my avatar is at 190 lbs.

This is awesome progress and I’m very appreciative of the support - you have no idea. A big THANK YOU and CONGRATULATIONS from London, OH. Keep up the good work.

“I know at my weight my totals are not impressive by any means, but they are a start and I am extremely happy with the progress.”