Sharing My Progress

Hi there,

New to the forums here. I am a novice powerlifter who just started 5 and a half months ago and I wanted to share my progress for anybody that cares or is just curious.

So Prior to powerlifting I was doing bodybuilding for 9 months. That’s my total training experience.

My lifts were (9 months of training):
Squat: 140kg
Bench(touch n go): 90kg
Deadlift:160kg

Then I switched to a powerlifting routine. At first I trained with a personal trainer and now I am being coached by Josh Hancott who is the junior IPF world champion in the 74kg division.

5-6 months later My lifts at 84kg BW are:
Squat: 185kg
Bench(paused): 102.5kg
Deadlift: 215kg

So an increase of 107.5kg or 236lbs to my total in this time. I even attempted a 220kg deadlift but couldn’t lock it out.

The first 2-3 months I gained strength so rapidly it was unbelievable. As a result of progressing to fast, I developed tendonitis on both my abductors. So my philosophy has changed. I prefer doing a program that has Steady gains rather than rapid gains in strength, because it means I can also focus on assistance movements and build my muscles and joints. I am using Josh Hancott’s off-season program and it serves that purpose perfectly!

Happy lifting!

Damn. how did ya do that? My lifts are similar to your initial lifts. What did you do during the 5-6 month period to get your lifts up so much?

[quote]Benanything wrote:
Damn. how did ya do that? My lifts are similar to your initial lifts. What did you do during the 5-6 month period to get your lifts up so much?[/quote]