Shadow Boxing, Good or Bad?

Loaded question, I know. Focus mitts would be my first choice, but I train alone, so it’s shadow boxing or a heavy bag.

The goal is to add some non-boring cardio without screwing up my shoulders (or anything else) in the process.

I used to box, but it’s been awhile. What’s the latest thinking on this?

I would really think that unless hitting the heavy bag hurts your shoulders, then why not do that? With your boxing background, I would think alternating heavy bag work with jump rope could be good. Or, if you have a dumbell lying around, alternating the heavy bag with some one arm DB snatches/cleans/swings could be a nice mix up as well.

I have no formal boxing experience, but I cannot imagine just doing shadow boxing. I like the idea of actually hitting something.

I actually prefer shadowboxing sometimes. If you are able to actually visualize your opponent (and make him a “Perfect” fighter…always blocking your strikes and finding your weaknesses) you become a much better fighter. At least I did.

As for your shoulders, I’d think that perhaps only striking at 50% power (at most 70%) should help with any potential problems.

But this is just a guess, to be fair.

Shadowboxing is great for cardio. Have you heard of Bas Rutten’s MMA Workout?

My instructor recommends that I shadow box in front of a mirror and focus on technique.

I workout at home and use both off and on…some days it will be strictly heavy bag training and others shadow boxing and then others will combine the two. Whatever you want to do will be fine.

Good for improving your boxing skills.

Bad during a job interview.

Thanks for the feedback, guys. I’ll probably alternate shadow work with heavybag.

There’s always been talk about deceleration injuries when striking air as opposed to striking an object, but I guess everything has potential for injury.