SFGSG (Skinny Fat Guy Support Group)

What is a skinny, fat guy to do? Basically here’s the situation. I’m 190lbs at about 18% bodyfat. This gives me a lean body mass of around 156lbs and about 34lbs of bodyfat. I have dieted down from over 25% bodyfat. (In truth I’ve even been at a lower bodyfat percentage…around 12) But when I got there, I didn’t have much muscle. I just looked flat and stringy. Basically I have a hard time gaining muscle without gaining as much fat. Its probably around a 1:1 ratio of lean mass to fat gained. That’s not good. Anyway, when I diet, I usually go extreme and of course lose muscle with the fat. Now I’m not a newbie, and I’ve read EVERY issue of T-mag. I’ve got a much better understanding of how to manipulate my diet and go for longer term improvements. However, I’m wondering what should be my first priority. Losing the fat and then trying to gain mass while staying relatively lean, or just say fuck it, gain as much mass as I can and try to diet off ALL the fat later?

I think it’s important to take measures to get your bodyfat in check first. Once you get below 10% (if possible), then go ahead and start trying to pack on as much lean mass as possible. I too gain fat very quickly in my abdominal area and chest. And I probably gain more like 1.5:1 (fat to muscle). So when I make a 10lb gain, most of it is fat. I’m taking steps to decrease my bodyfat to below 10%. Then I will try to gain lean muscle again. Even John McCallum recommends gaining just enough to where you get smooth. Then diet down and get hard again. Hold it for a month or two and gain again. Small progressive gains are better than huge bulking cycles. I think huge bulking cycles are left to those who have great genetics or use steroids.