Setting Up the Hands for the Jerk

Does anyone do this? I have been looking at how Dabaya sets up for the jerk. He pulls his elbows down. I started doing this a while back (athough I cannot get my elbows pulled vertically down). It seems to help me to get a solid upright push on the bar.

it helps me. although im no pro, i try to keep my elbows down when setting up for the jerk. almost no lifters jerk with their elbows at 90 degrees to their torso… you just cant get enough drive. try overhead pressing with your elbows perpendicular to your torso and then try the same weight with your elbows in the 30-40 degree range. you just drive better with your elbows down.

the drive is almost entirely with the legs but yes keeping the elbows down does help, as long as the bar doesn’t travel down your shoulder/arm during the dip and drive and your shoulder and arm stay at the same angles during the dip and drive.

Besides that he moves his hands out which if you can do it and hold the bar overhead, its good IMO. I can’t do it without a lot of trouble still. Need more flexibility and shoulder mass to be able to do it easily. If I could, I would.

i dunno. i thought you were supposed to drive it up with your hips.

[quote]alexus wrote:
i dunno. i thought you were supposed to drive it up with your hips.[/quote]

Undoubtedly. But, while locking out overhead, there is of course a huge amount of resistance the arms and shoulders have to deal with. I have found that (with the bar racked across my shoulders) setting up my hands in a wider position, with the elbows held down as much as possible, helps me to get a more solid lockout. I don’t think Anyone is suggesting you should just push the bar up. That you should dip and use your hips/legs to initiate a jerk is not relevant or of interest: it’s the performance AFTER that phase which I am interested in.