T Nation

Setting My Goal (MMA Physique)

Greetings everybody!

First time posting here and looking for some advice on where i need to aiming. I am looking for an MMA weight class to settle on. I am reasonably educated about nutrition and workouts but i am unsure where i want to settle at and maintain.

To start with i will give some background. I am a former MARINE and when i was at my lowest weight i was 176 but was very weak i had little fat but also very little muscle and i hated how weak i felt. I started training with their MMA program they have and really enjoyed but sadly i suffered a bad knee injury and was shoved behind a desk and i regret to say i got VERY fat and lazy. Right now i am focused on dropping weight so that may get back to training as a hobby. I am a larger frame build and am looking for good weight to get to and maintain. I am thinking that i should be no lower than 205 as any lower would be very difficult for me to maintain strength. For my style preference i prefer Muay Thai for my stand up am decided on my ground game. Thank you guys very much for any assistance and advice!

The search function on this site is very useful. Also, there's a "combat" forum that you can read the posts in. Plenty of information available--no reason for you to make any more threads at this point.

Hey Vinitine, never mind ^^ that dude. The Beginners forum is for asking questions, so stick around.

Are you looking to compete eventually, or is it just for your own personal goals/guidelines?

So you know what you "should" be doing, but you've just fallen off the wagon?

How have you been training and eating most recently?

Is your knee 100% healthy again? Does it prevent you from doing any type of training (lifting or cardio)?

Your profile says you're 5'11" and 273 pounds. Is that accurate?