Setting Goals

I’m somewhat new to weight training and am trying to set some reasonable goals for myself.I’ve been lifting for about two months now and have seen some results but nothing huge. I want to put on some size (nothing huge) and get my body fat down,basically just a good athletic build. The problem is I’m not sure what a logical goal to shoot for is. What kind of results to expect? I don’t want to keep getting my hopes up for results and than get discouraged as I have in the past.

Thanks

Male 25
6’1"
184 lbs
BF 12%

You want us to mke up goals for you???

Just trying to figure out what I REASONABLE goal should be. How much how fast can you expect to see results…

What you can reasonably attain depends upon your knowledge and resources.

We don’t know if you are a 184 pound noob, or if you have been at it long enough to find out what works for you.

Either way, shoot for about a half pound to a pound per week. Stop when you look in the mirror and are satisfied with your size.

A reasonable goal would be to continue to lift for three months, followed by four, five, six, etc.

Goals are set by you, for you. There are big goals - several years down the road - and there are smaller goals - 3 to six months out. They must be well thought out, specific, important to you, and realistic. They must also require some stretching on the part of the goal setter. For instance, “I’m going to eat six meals per day” is a goal that is certainly attainable, but not too much of a stretch.

However, “I am going to follow John Berardi’s Precision Nutrition, clean up my diet, change my body composition to no more than 10% body fat, and add 10 lbs of lean body mass by June 2007” is a reasonable goal that will require much more from you than going to McDonald’s six times per day.