T Nation

Sets and Reps Question

Hi guys, I recently joined this group hoping to help me in my growth. Ive been doing weights for a few months now along side a few friends.

My question is, i've been reading magazines and even exercise articles here which writes 'do 3 sets of these' or '4 sets of that', why is it all standardized? as in, a standard 3 set workout. I always imagined or thought it to be till 'point of failure'? until i cant go anymore. Can anyone help explain?

Thanks,
Jon

Welcome to the site-

My first piece of advice, is to keep reading.

I’ll try explain as best I can-
The idea of prescribing certain sets/reps, is that you are suppose to choose a weight that only allows you to complete those sets/reps.
If after doing all your sets you’re feeling like you could do another set, then you didn’t pick a heavy enough weight, it’s as simple as that.

It’s worth noting, too, that the philosophy of training until failure is just one way to train. Some say the best, some say always leave a rep “in the tank”. You should keep reading, experimenting and find out what your body responds to.

[quote]Mowgly wrote:
I always imagined or thought it to be till ‘point of failure’? until i cant go anymore. Can anyone help explain?

Thanks,
Jon [/quote]

When you’re done with the prescribed number of sets, you should be close to this ‘point of failure’ and unable to ‘go anymore.’

If you still have the fuel, the weight you chose was too light.

I play by ear and give myself a ballpark of reps, do a set or two, and adjust the weight if need by, always upping the weight ( i work in a pyramid style). You also might wanna keep a workout journal, ive been doing it for the past couple years and it does help a good deal: checking weights you did last week, being able to see what exercises you havent hit in a couple weeks, being able to constantly change/increase.