T Nation

Sensitive to Oatmeal but Not Wheat?


I was diagnosed with asthma last fall. Since then I am trying to determine what is causing it so I can get off my maintenance inhaler.

I cut dairy out years ago due to a sensitivity to it.

Lately I've been having GI trouble. The only change i made in my diet was increasing the amount of oatmeal I eat at breakfast.

Ive recently cut out oatmeal and gluten. From what I understand pure oats are gluten free but are often contaminated with gluten as it is processed on shared equipment with wheat.

My question is: Can i be sensitive to the protein in oats(avenin) but not sensitive to gluten? I have an appointment with my doc next week and will bring this up to him. I was just wondering what those on here with knowledge of the subject think. thanks.