Self-Teaching a Language

Hey guys I’m a senior in high school and school ends in 3 days. For some unknown reason, I’ve gotten the urge to teach myself Italian. I do have Italian heritage, but none of my immediate family speaks it, so I’d basically be 100% on my own.

Has anyone ever tried teaching him/herself a language? If so, what do you think the best way to learn it is (other than actually going to the country and being around it 24/7)? I was planning on just buying a book like “Italian for dummies” or something like that just to get my feet wet.

rosetta stone ? looks good one commercials but ive never used it before

Rosetta Stone is a good introduction, as is the Pimsleur series.

I self-taught myself Japanese to the point of fluency, and although learners are different the following worked for me…

1.) Study every day. Set aside a reasonable amount of time based on your schedule. It doesn’t matter if its 30 minutes or 2 hours, but you’ve got to make it a routine or you won’t remember anything.

2.) Speak. This is the most important thing, by far. Sitting down with your face in a book won’t amount to much if you don’t apply it. This is why the Pimsleur audio series is so good…it’ll teach you the vocabulary, then give you an English sentence to translate into Italian. You say the sentence out loud. Speaking a language is very much a motor skill rather than a scholastic pursuit…you physically have to speak the words. Of course its best to converse with a native speaker but I found that doing a “running dialogue” as you go about your daily activities is very effective. For example, as you walk down the street describe what you’re seeing (in Italian)…“a cat is walking in front of the store”, or “the road is congested with cars”. People look at you like you’re a psycho, but it works