T Nation

Seeking Input On A Computer Purchase

Hello,

I know for sure I need a laptop. My question is, should I also invest in a desktop or should I just get a docking station and monitor setup for home?

I’m an elementary school teacher. I use my computer for MS Office work, giving presentations, surfing the net, etc. I don’t do any fancy video or audio editing. The most advanced thing I do is create screencasts for video lessons (similar to kahn academy). Sometime I draw simple pictures in inkscape.

I’m just not sure its worth investing in a separate machine to sit on my desk at home when I can just come home and snap my laptop into a docking station to get the large monitor and real keyboard experience.

Is there something I’m not thinking of when it comes to not owning a desktop?

[quote]JSMaxwell wrote:
Hello,

I know for sure I need a laptop. My question is, should I also invest in a desktop or should I just get a docking station and monitor setup for home?

I’m an elementary school teacher. I use my computer for MS Office work, giving presentations, surfing the net, etc. I don’t do any fancy video or audio editing. The most advanced thing I do is create screencasts for video lessons (similar to kahn academy). Sometime I draw simple pictures in inkscape.

I’m just not sure its worth investing in a separate machine to sit on my desk at home when I can just come home and snap my laptop into a docking station to get the large monitor and real keyboard experience.

Is there something I’m not thinking of when it comes to not owning a desktop?[/quote]
You should definitely just get a decent laptop. It will be strong enough for your needs.

I’d just get a decent docking station. Desktops do still have some major pluses over laptops if you’re a power user, but that doesn’t sound like the case here. If you’re not gaming or doing actual video editing, a laptop is fine these days.