T Nation

Seeking Advice on Bulking/Cutting Diets

hey guys, i'm a bit of a newb, 19 years old, 5'7 and 152lbs and just started lifting seriously this year. I was just looking for some advice on whether i should be eating to build mass or cut. i've been leaning towards cutting (just because it's the summer time). I train 4 times a week (3 full body heavy lifting and 1 metabolic training session).

i don't really have any precise methods of calculating BF%, but an online one gave me about 12%. i am looking to reduce some body fat around my midsection, because if i do the abs would probably show. some feedback on what kind of nutrition i should be getting would be greatly appreciated!

let me know what you guys think (and try not to be too harsh)

also, i’m not fat but not scrawny either. i have decent definition and basically am not sure whether i should try to gain more lean muscle or try to lose some body fat (not looking to get too huge)

Top right, look for “Google Site Search”.

Apart from that, you are 19. Eats lots, lift heavy.

most people on this site will advise you to take advantage of your young age and ability to recover from workouts quickly and train to gain as much muscle as possible. From how you describe yourself, it doesn’t sound like you need to cut at the moment. With regard to your nutrition, we’re going to need more details. What’s your diet plan like now? What’s your budget like? Then we can go from there.

I wouldn’t worry about bodyfat too much right now and just try to gain weight and most of all: build a solid strength base on the major lifts.

Look, at 152 / 5’7 there is just no need to cut, if you are a bodybuilder. I’ve you just want to show a good sixpack at the beach, go for it and diet down to 140. But being ripped with no muscles is not exactly what most guys here try to achieve.

19 is a great age at which most guy tolerate a pretty high amount of work and can bulk relatively clean due to the favorable hormonal environment.