T Nation

Scuba in Cozumel

One week from today I will be in Cozumel for a week of diving. I am prepaid for 5 days of two tank a day diving and plan to hook up for a couple of night dives while there. I am a beginner, just got certified in fall and ain’t beeen “wet” since. I own my own equipment and am pretty excited about the trip. Anybody been? Suggestions , pointers, tips, as to diving there, eating, drinking etc? Thanx for any help dudes.

Never been diving Cozumel, but we try to get to Playa Del Carmen/Cancun as often as we can.

Drink bottled water - nothing out of the tap. As for food, that’s a crap shoot. Always eat fully cooked meats - No rare cuts. I always founder on lobster when we get down there.

The diving is great in Cozumel. A lot to see at all depths. Night diving is big. A lot of the outfitters run trips. If you have never done it you will love it.

Cozumel has a strong current. You literally go with the flow. They drop you in and the boat will follow at a distance and meet you a mile or so away. It’s that strong. The guides are reputable and meet standards you would find in the US. Very professional. Tell them this is your first dive since certified. They will keep an eye on you and help you getting suited up etc.

I’ll second what RJ said. The water will have you going from both ends. Stick with bottled water, canned soda and of course Tequila! Carlos and Charlies is a fun spot to check out. It has a big rope swing and lot’s of “shooter girls” with bandoleers of shot glasses and holsters filled with tequila!

One last tip. If you dive at night from a boat. Buy a whistle and a caylum light stick. Just in case you lose your flashlight. The lightstick will burn for 4-6 hrs. and the whistle will help them find you. Just spin the light stick around on the string. It’s a good marker. Obviously no Tequila till you get back from the dive.