T Nation

screwed up bad..!

T-folk, give me sound advice and realistic please, don’t BS me around with stupid replies. But I am a professional boxer and have to loose 18Lbs in four months, the problem is that I only have about 12-13Lbs of fat on me. I thought I was retired at the age of 25 but now I need to get back in the ring and fight at 145lbs. I currently weigh 160Lbs. So, how should I start my training, and nutrition… My trainer and I so far will begin heavy weight training and with no post workout shake followed by long cardio (30min.) the followed by a small meal… well help with any advice possible. thanks

You have four months to lose 18lbs (12-13 of that being fat) to make weight? No problem. You should first check out renegadetraining.com for Coach Davies’ training recommendations for boxers. I betcha renegade rope training will help, but you’ve probablly already begun rope training - right? As for nutrition? Maybe also read the FAQ, but also Essential Berardi and The Diet Manifesto. These two articles will provide a good footing on the nutrition aspect.

You might consider the 5x5 training or Meltdown (do a search on T-Mag for the articles about these two programs). What you really need to do is pick up the cardio (which you've done) - but supplement long cardio with the jump rope. The sparring and heavy bag training will also help you cut down.