Scotocus: What is a Bodybuilder?

I’m all for being an asshole but if you were sincere and
just wanted a debate you could’ve started a new thread.

What is a bodybuilder?

For me there is a look that a bodybuilder has, and I only consider ones that have this look with or without their shirt on, and yes they need to be a certian size (large). Until then you are just a person that bodybuilds. Equivelant to people who play basketball out in the park are not basketball players.

Anyone who plays basketball is a ‘basketball player’. Anybody who works on their physique from an aesthetic standpoint is a ‘bodybuilder’. You may not be ‘competitive’ or ‘professional’ status, but a bodybuilder nonetheless.

Let’s break it down into sub-categories. I would consider myself a ‘beginning BB’er’, even though I have no aspirations of competing. I’m a beginner because I have a long way to go and a lot to learn. But you wouldn’t catch me calling myself a BB’er at all outside of these forums.

I don’t know when one would be considered Intermediate. You’d be Competitive when you start competing, of course, and Professional when you started making money at it (like any other sport). And then Elite, I guess, would be the guys that win major shows and make it into the mags and shit.

And yeah, Scotocus, you were being a real douchebag in that thread. I hope you’re not really a pansy-ass whiny little punk, like you seem to be from that thread.

Someone who trains,eats and lives with a single minded goal to change the size and shape of their body. the number one priority being purely cosmetic with strength being secondary (as opposed to a powerlifter whose main goal is limit strength above all others).

competitive bodybuilder:to impress the judges
personal bodybuilder: to impress yourself.

QFT

Bodybuilding is a lifestyle that the vast majority of people are not acquainted with in any way. A bodybuilder is someone who lives the lifestyle.

A few observations from a non-BBer: