Scientific Articles and Becoming a PT

Just a few short questions:

I’m trying to learn so I’m reading books, this site, ect. But I keep seeing that a lot of people are reading “scientific articles.” I have access to these kind of articles through my college library but I’m not really sure where to start. Any suggestions on good ones to start with?

To all the real trainers out there: Before and after you took your certification test, what did you do to get the ball rolling? I’m studying for mine right now and I want to be ready to go right to work with it. I’m still a good 2 months out from taking my test so I want to have options when it happened.

So far, just yesterday I picked up hours at the desk of my gym. It’s a hole-in-the-wall type place but it’s my kind of place and there are a lot of different people who come through the door. I figure I can get to know some of them and, after I get certified, maybe build some of my beginning clientele out of them.

I also went to the big money gym in town with all their brand new equipment, trainers in their mid- to late- 20’s, all with a bunch of degrees I have trouble pronouncing, and talked to the Manager. He is going to let me come in for 2 hours a week for 15 hours total (I know, it doesn’t add up, but that’s what he said) and be able to talk with the trainers, ask questions, and I guess they are going to give me workout passes so that I can “be there and observe.”

It’s not where I want to be, I actually kind of hate that gym just because of their money and the absolute smugness you see when you walk in but hey, it’s something else.

Most of the people even discussing “scientific articles” don’t have the background to even understand what they are reading in detail.

Further, there is a difference between an “article” and a “study”.

I am personally a little irritated by people misunderstanding or misrepresenting scientific data all in the name of fitness.