School or Job?

I was notified today that I am one of a dozen students who have been accepted into Graduate program. It?s a two year boot camp; if you complete it, you get an MFA degree and are able to teach among other things.

I graduated from college as an undergrad a year and a half ago. I had a very difficult time finding a full-time job. I went on two interviews and things just weren?t going my way. As a student, I interned for a very big company ; they offered me a part time gig (couple days a week) after graduation. While working part time, I decided I may as well go back to school since I wasn?t able to land my dream job. I studied for the GRE?s, and eventually submitted my application.

Approximately six months ago, someone quit, and the company asked me to work five days a week instead of two. The work I was doing was a dream come true, and I really learned a lot. The company decided not to replace the person who quit, but instead allow people like myself and a few others to share the hours. I was told that nothing is guaranteed, but eventually I may get a chance to work full-time. I was just glad to be working, and doing what I loved.

Within the last two months, I have been working on a part time basis. I have been told that I will know before the end of the summer whether the company plans to offer me a full time position or not.

The place where I am now is my dream gig. After finishing Grad school, this would be something I would kill to do. The only issue is the uncertainty and whether they want me.

I think my experience at this company had something to do with me being accepted to the graduate program.

Financially I am OK. I will get paid by the graduate program; I’ll be assisting Undergrads while also basking in the knowledge.