Scheduled Layoff?

I have been training for about 7 months straight. I am over 40 and have been training over half my life. Would it be advantageous to take a layoff and if so how long. I get thru my workouts OK, seem to be dragging ass a bit lately.

If you don’t incorporate planned lay-offs into your training cycle, start. You’ll feel MUCH better, in all kinds of ways.

Honestly, I think that the key to training longevity and continual returns is the use of periodization and scheduled recuperation times. In most of the programs I design, an “unloading” week occurs every 4 weeks, and 1 week off of training every 8 to 10. I’m not sure if that’s ideal, but it seems to work well. Another thing…going hypocaloric in the off-weeks can spark a good period of growth when returning to normal diet and training.

Please read the article on Hypertrophy Specific Training and then follow the links to read Bryan’s article on Strategic Deconditioning.

As well, Ian King periodically recommends taking time off. At least one week in thirteen. (though he doesn’t explain his reasoning)

What king of “training” are you doing ???

Thanks for the responses. Body - I have been doing mainly free weights to increase strength along with ~20 minutes cardio per workout. I also do Mixed Martial Arts, which I stopped after a bad injury and have just returned to.

When I didn’t incorporate an off week every 10-12 weeks, I paid. I got tired, burned out and even had to deal with tendonitis which forced a week off (more like 4 months). You come back stronger when you do, but the hardest part: being disciplined enough to stay out or only do very ‘light’ weights…