Safety: Olympic vs. Powerlifiting

Q: Generally, is Olympic lifting safer than Powerlifting?

I am asking this question regarding a person who wants to compete in and focus on oly or pl lifting, and is not just dabbling in them for their other sport.

[Personal Application: I have been pursuing PLing for 4 years, the last 2.5 of which I have been chronically injured. I have been told oly lifting is much safer, and would like to know if this is true. I am at a point where I am considering making the switch if it means I can be in the gym lifting rather than being injured all the time.
Yes, I have tried many, many approaches to fixing and preventing injuries. And Yes, I am at a point where I have access to people that could teach me proper form on the OL lifts.]

imo, yes it is. I used to dabble a bit into PL and such. I had all the stuff, wide stance squats w/ knee wraps, wide ass grip bench and a 7 second long deadlift PR. I also wasn’t gaining on much besides my deadlift, which gains if I look at some iron.

I also came down with wrist tendinitis and knee tendinitis 3 months from my first meet. I decided then, after talking with many people and reading up on it, to switch to OL.

knees feel great, wrist hasn’t hurt in months (been in OL for 6 months now).

I feel a ton stronger, I feel safer now that I know how to bail on squats and overhead lifts.

And from seeing all the other people who train at my club, old guys and younger guys as well, the only people injured are people who either did something stupid OR are genetically gifted in the acquiring injuries department.

think of it this way: squat full rom and strengthen the knee or squat to 90 degrees and put the knee in harms way. which would you rather do?

Also, once I got heavily into OL, I dropped a good amount of weight, just from the complex movements and such. Don’t know if that’ll help you get into as well.

And imo, how often do you hear of a PL’er getting injured? How about someone from OL?