T Nation

S&C Training for My First MMA Athlete

I have been training mma for about 3 years now and strength training off and on since 2001. I am 26 now. I have made some really great gains. I have had an opportunity to learn from one of the best strength and conditioning mma coaches in the world and it motivated me to learn more scientifically about strength and conditioning vs just following what high level experts say knowing it will work.

I finally found something I love and it's all I think about lately. My goal is to be one of the most recognizable strength and conditioning coaches in the mma community. So I just finished the science and practice of strength training which was recommended to me by two different respected strength coaches. The next book I am reading is "supertraining" along with John m. Berardi's "The grapplers guide to sports nutrition".

I have 3 years done wiht a community health related degree at a major university but I dropped out years ago because it wasn't what I want to do. I am now returning to finish my bachlors in exercise science which will take about two years.

So I have sorta a unique opportunity. I am able to work on the internet which enables me to travel alot. So I am going back to thailand in febuary for 3 months along with a upcoming mma fighter who is 19 years old. This 19 year old kid walks around at 165lbs and is about 6'0". A great frame for fighting at 155lb.

He is very flexable in alot of motions (like almost put foot behind head with no hands) and also has great length. He frequents hollywood often and trains his jitz under eddie bravo and he traveled with me before to thailand. This is our second time.