Rydor_gurl - Gettin' Serious

Hi all,
I am new to T-Nation, and would love to get constructive feedback on my plans to reach my goals.

I am currently 22 y.old, 5’4. I have been lifting for about 2 years now, but have not used any particular lifting programs. Usually I just hit my entire body every other day.

My story is as follows:
Grew up as a lean kid. I was also highly active throughout high school (basketball, volleyball, soccer, sprints, just-for-fun football, and all-around glee during PE classes).

Some control issues with family, however, led to a kink in my perspective towards eating. I lost a lot of muscle mass and stopped doing sports for about two years.

Because of how this issue was dealt with, my eating practices got even worse – however, instead of continuing down the same direction as before, I ate poorly and in extremes to “show them” I could eat (Dumbest thing ever… to sacrifice yourself to “show” anyone anything).

Grappled with these issues for about four years. Perhaps it was a blessing in disguise because I might have never stumbled into weight-lifting without it. Getting back into volleyball at university also made a huge difference.

Anyway, my body is pretty primed now for looking smokin, but I just have to shed the fat. The muscle is there, and my genetics for leanness is good. It’s just a matter of doing this. What makes this difficult is the mental baggage that I have with losing weight (i.e. it is “bad” to lose weight, or I am a “bad person” if I lose weight).

But I want to kick this issue for good, and reaching my fitness and diet goals (i.e. lifestyle goals) will be a sign to me that I have done it. To get to that point! I can’t wait!

This past month, I had enough and have directly addressed the “baggage issues” (finally!) with the people involved and resolutions are underway… which makes it possibly the perfect time for me to do this once and for all.