T Nation

Running Without Catabolizing

I recently asked a question about caloric intake and got some great feedback, thought I'd give it another go:
I'm 31, 6'1 182 pounds 16.5% bf. I just started lifting a couple weeks ago and I'm interested in getting a good program going. I've got some books and read a lot here to get me started for the next few months for the actual workouts. My main goal is to slim down first to around 10 or 12% but add, or at least not lose, muscle.
My question is about cardio. I've been running for a few months and lowered my body fat from around 22%--but unfortunately lost some muscle in the process. I don't want to lose any more muscle but I want to keep running.
What I'm thinking of doing is this: Lifting Monday Wednesday and Friday and warming up with a mile beforehand (pretty slow, like 7.0 mph, or 8 1/2 minutes). From the helpful advice I got here, I won't do any other cardio on lifting days if eight minutes or so even counts as cardio. Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday I want to run. Two of those days (probably Thursday and Saturday) I'd like to do about 4 miles--right now about thirty minutes for me. Tuesday I'd like to do a longer run from 5 to 7 miles, anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour. Sunday I'll take off completely. Basically 3 days of running and 3 lifting.
My question is, what should I do specifically to make sure I'm not catabolizing my lean mass? Will a grow bar and/or a couple scoops of original Grow! an hour before my four mile days be OK and a couple scoops of Low-Carb Grow! after? Should I have Surge before or after on the long run day or at all? Is running for suckers? I used to hate it, but I've grown to really like it--sometimes. Also, although ladies aren't very impressed by a big throbbing heart muscle, I figure it is a muscle and I should condition it regularly.