Running Everyday?

I’m a 22 year old beginner. I’ve been working out 12 weeks and I’ve gained 20 lbs from 152 to 172. I’ve gained 1%BF according to my electronic scale (was 17% and now 18%). I’m stronger and bigger and but I haven’t gained much definition. I was thinking about doing steady state cardio (running or biking) 5 days a week for 30 minutes and continuing to work out 3 times a week in the afternoon.

Is this reasonable?

[quote]Tryin2BRipd wrote:
I’m a 22 year old beginner. I’ve been working out 12 weeks and I’ve gained 20 lbs from 152 to 172. I’ve gained 1%BF according to my electronic scale (was 17% and now 18%). I’m stronger and bigger and but I haven’t gained much definition. I was thinking about doing steady state cardio (running or biking) 5 days a week for 30 minutes and continuing to work out 3 times a week in the afternoon.

Is this reasonable?[/quote]

Not really. Try interval or hill training (ie. sprinting with rests in between). If you don’t have much running background, you might want to do 2-4 of weeks in which you do a few steady state runs working up to 30 mins (so 15, 20, 25, 30 if you did four). This is to prepare you for the intervals.

Make sure you are running, not jogging, and focus on intensity and not volume.

I wouldn’t put much store in bodyfat scales. How tall are you?

5’10.5"

no running background and typical weak all over beginner. Should I even worry about losing fat for definition at this point?

(from a psychological standpoint I think it w3ould help a lot because I would really be able to see the results)

Yeah, there are far better programs for fat loss than running. You only have one set of knees and running only makes them worse. If you keep your diet clean and your carbs in their optimal windows you should lose fat as you gain muscle.

What is your diet as of now?

What program are you on?

-chris

my diet is okay. I want to see gains but I’m not a total health nut.