T Nation

Runner's Knee - Need Advice

I wanted to start running before I started playing baseball this year. I started running a mile and a half to two miles every day. I was running on asphalt with And 1 basketball shoes. It wasnt a good combination and it gave me runners knee right before the tournament this weekend.

During the tournament i couldn't run. i could bearly even jog. It is only painful to run, and i can walk without pain. What is the treatment for this condition? i looked it up online and it says to just ice it.

Not much you can do but rest. I had it a couple of years ago and just quit running for a couple of weeks. When I started back up, I'd only run on a treadmill. Running on concrete is too hard on your knees. So only do it when you cant on a treadmill.

So rest, take glucosamine/chrontidin religously for your cartilidge to come back, ice it, more rest, and only run on a treadmill when going for a jog.

I have the same problem if I start running after a long hiatus but I find that regular stretching of the hamstrings to loosen them up as well as doing lots of unilateral leg work like lunges and split squats to strengthen the area over the patella really help.

I love running but age has forced me to change the way I run. No more distance I can only run short distances ,but I can get a pretty good work out if I combine it with other exercises .I had to change my gate , when I was young I run on the ball of my feet . Now my power comes from my ass. Recover and good luck to you.

You've made the mistake that many people do. If you are going to run on a regular basis most need to stick to some basic rules"

1-Don't run everyday. Every other day, or three times per week is plenty. I don't care what the 135lb. freaks are doing. Do you want to look like that?

2-Find the best running shoes that you can afford and only run with them so the tread on the bottom does not wear out quickly.