Rugby

Hey forum, I just started playing rugby, and it is a great sport (seeing as playing D1 football is not an option). However, our season lasts all year for the most part, because we play a fall preseason. I want to continue to add strength through my lifting, but I’m wary of overtraining as my legs are put through the ringer four days a week from playing. Any suggestions for an in season lifting regimen would be great, thanks.

rugby is a great game!! try this website

www.waikato.ac.nz/ education/ls/leisure/Rugby/pwgthm.htm
or do a search from www.waikato.ac.nz. it is run by brett smith at waikato univesity in new zealand (home of the all blacks - the greatest rugby players in the world). it looks like a pretty good routine… best of luck! what position are you playing? nic :slight_smile:

I tend to do legs either on a day where im doing rugby practice but early in the morning so I can recover slightly before the evening training session, as long as i keep it short and sweet and make sure that its far enough away from game day I dont seem to suffer.nicky just to wind you up - whose ranked number one - ENGLAND, swing low sweet chariot.

The program is ok, but Id suggest if you wanna dominate look into renegade training for rugby, IT has completely changed the way i can play the game.
Some of the stuff on that site is assinine:

Most athletes in virtually all sports will tell you of the benefits of a comprehensive warm up in the morning before the game/event. This warm up should include 15-30 minutes of light aerobic activity, 10 minutes of “non-fatiguing” general body strength work followed by 15-20 minutes of flexibility work. This type of session prepares the body (and mind) for game day. Traditionally rugby players have complained that any exercise on Friday and/or Saturday would fatigue them for the game however if they are that unfit then it is unlikely that they will last 10 rather than 80 minutes