T Nation

Rugby Training Log

Thanks in advance for any info/advice you can give me! I'll likely need a lot of it.

I'm a long time lurker of T-Nation and after searching through the forums for info on rugby training lately, I've found the motivation to start a log.

I'm trying to get into shape for rugby (stronger, faster, better cardio) and left it a bit late this year and just had my second game of the season today (Saturday May 25th). I play scrumhalf and have found that I'm getting way too tired way too quickly in practices and games and don't have the strength and flexibility to be able to get low and tackle/ruck properly. I've never really had breakaway speed but, with the extra weight I've been carrying my acceleration and top speed has really taken a beating. So basically I've got to improve everything!

Some things that I need to take into account with my training are that I work in construction and practice on Tuesday and Thursday nights and have games on Saturdays. I'm not too concerned about being sore for the practices, but I want to get in the best shape possible for September when I'll be going to the UK to live for a bit and play for a team over there (slowly putting some money together for the trip, but that's a different log for a different forum I'm sure).

Stats:
Height 6'
Weight 225lbs
BF% lots

My strength is pretty low right now so I've decided to stick to bodyweight exercises (except for bi's and tri's) until I can hit a few basic numbers that most tenth graders should be able to hit.

Equipment available:
Typical single stack multi-purpose machine (which can be seen at hoistfitness.com/consumer/equipment/v1-select_gym), adjustable dumbbells up to 45lbs, and a barbell set with 380 lbs total (including the bar). No bench or squat rack so that kind of gets in my way a bit, I'm looking to save up some money for my trip so I won't be buying these for quite a while.

Tentative Training Plan:

Monday: Body-weight Workout + Sprints