Rugby Prop Offseason Training

After a long time away from Rugby, I recently started playing again as a prop forward (previously was a back). Fall season has ended and we have about 8 weeks before spring pre-season training begins. Since I am new to training as a forward, and especially a prop, I would appreciate any feedback, advice, or other nuggets of wisdom.

I am 32, 6’ tall, roughly 230-235 lbs, and play loosehead (No. 1) for those that are familiar with the front row. I am currently working on raising my calories (following pn) and would like to get to about 250ish in 2008.

For my lifting I am looking at 4 days per week right now. 2 days with an upper/lower split at about 8 reps/set and the other 2 days full body focused on O-lifts and combos. Sound reasonable?

I have been looking at the neck harness over at elitefts: http://www.flexcart.com/members/elitefts/default.asp?m=PD&cid=139&pid=1941 but have never done anything direct for the neck. Any have experience with this or another harness they would recommend?

Any other training advice for front row? I previously played as a back, but am loving being a prop.

If you’re loose you don’t really have to worry too much about hurting your neck, although it wouldn’t hurt. Other than that, in my experience, deadlifts are the single best exercise for rugby. It would also benefit you to really work hard on building up your traps/shoulders/biceps as those are the muscles that take the brunt of the impact when tackling and rucking. I’m sure you did your share of hitting when you played as a back, but as a packrat, or fatty as we are often referred to, you’ll be getting into some serious mashing.

Don’t forget to do dynamic leg exercises along with conditioning, obviously.

[quote]Rugby_Owns wrote: