Routine with 5 Days of Work

I have been training for over a year now and have seen myself develop some strength and size gains. However I have never had a proper routine and feel my progress is starting to slack. I am currently on bulking phase and am happy with the diet, I just need some help in developing a routine which bases around 5 days of work. What I need to know is should I be doing full body routines or splits? what set/rep range I should be using? etc.

I am not a complete newbie, nor am I an extrememly experienced lifter. I am just a guy who needs some advice on an intermediate size/strength programme.

All help is greatly apprechiated. Lastly, Sorry if the threads a bit poorly structured; I am new to these forums.

NOTE: I’ve only recently started doing deads and squats (I know should have started earlier) and want to know how many times a week I should do them?

Well, considering you’re a beginner, I wouldn’t want to make things much complicated. I think you’d be fine with one major exercise per muscle group and a secondary exercise just to finish it off. Here’s a split that I like:

Day 1: Horizontal pushing/pulling

Day 2: Quads/abs/calves

Day 3: Vertical pushing/pulling

Day 4: Hams/abs/calves

Day 5: Arms

Basically, I would pick one major movement and a secondary movement. For example: On the horizontal pushing/pulling day, your major exercises can be bench press and barbell row, with heavy weights and low reps. Then your secondary exercises can be a cable crossover and a facepull with lighter weights and more reps.

In my opinion you should experiment with different set/rep schemes. I could prescribe 5x5 for the main exercises and 3x12 for the secondary ones, but that might be too taxing. Try it and see.

Mind you, this is a split that i said worked well for me, It may or may not suit you. Its just a sample.