T Nation

Routine Needed

I want to get into Powerlifting and Strength training. I have been working out for 8 months and never concentrated on strength and lately it has become very important to me.

I am new to this and do not know where to start and would like a program to follow. I don’t know which to use: Westside, WS4SB, Sheiko, Starting Strength, etc.

Stats:
height: 5’8"
weight: 185lbs
Squat: 315lbs
Bench: 265lbs
DL: 365lbs

Any advice on what program to start with?

monday:
squat
leg assistance

Tues or wednesday:
press
shoulder-chest-tri assistance

Thursday:
deadlift
deadlift/back assistance

Just starting out in PL as well, I am going with a general westside template right now, and I find that it is very good for getting me stronger (not so much by way of hypertrophy right now though).

The dynamic work is helping me, as I have had issues with explosive strength (13 inch vertical jump). I also like the emphasis on box squatting, as it helps me get the groove down a bit easier.

just my $.02

[quote]thephantom wrote:
Just starting out in PL as well, I am going with a general westside template right now, and I find that it is very good for getting me stronger (not so much by way of hypertrophy right now though).

The dynamic work is helping me, as I have had issues with explosive strength (13 inch vertical jump). I also like the emphasis on box squatting, as it helps me get the groove down a bit easier.

just my $.02[/quote]

What does your routine look like right now? From what I’ve read, there is a general template but not many specific routines like Sheiko.

I’m no Ed Coan but IMHO, Westside might not be the best template to start out with. I’d advise a beginner who trains 3 days a week to split it something like this:

Monday: Squats/Close grip Bench- assistance for chest, shoulders, back
Thursday: Heavy Bench- assistance for shoulders, chest triceps
Friday: Deadlift- assistance for back, hamstrings