T Nation

Routine Critique

I have been lifting off and on since 01. More off than on. I have been hitting the gym 5 times a week for 7 months this time around and back in 01 I set a goal of benching 225 for reps e.g. 3X10 and a max bench of 300. I also want to be able to do 5X300 on squats. I have just started squatting past 2 months or so and I am trying to get the form down. My routine currently is as follows:

Monday
bench 135@10,235@5,245@5,255@5
incline bench 185@5,195@5, 205@5
decline bench 235@5,245@5,255@5
(I normally don’t get all of the reps on the last set…maybe 3-4)
seated dips 270@8,270@8,270@8
fly’s 40(each arm)@8,40@8,45@8

Tues.
seated rows 135@8,150@8,165@8
kneeling (bench) dumbell pulls
75@8,80@8,85@8
pulldowns 120@8,135@8,150@8
widegrip pulls (standing on machine)
90@8,90@8,90@8

Wednesday
scullcrushers 85@8,95@8,100@8
tricep extensions using rope
60@8,70@8,80@8
seated overhead tricep extension
80@10,90@10,100@10
dips (bodyweight) 20reps,15reps,10reps
closegrip bench 115@8,125@8,135@8

Thurs.
dumbell curls standing
40(each arm)@10,40@10,45@10
standing barbell curls 85@8,85@8,85@8
burnouts 21@50 for three sets, low,high,full

Fri.
Squats
135@10,225@5,245@5,265@5
may lower the weight some until I am conviced I have good form. I need a spotter!
leg press 400@8,450@8,450@8
seated calf extensions 400@12,490@10,490@10
seated quad extension 90@8,100@8,100@8
I mix in lunges with 45,s and other shit.

Sat.
Shoulders
military press 135@6,135@6,185@4
don’t know what this is called but you basically move from a front flexed position while standing holding dumbells to a squating position (arm wise) 30@8,35@8,35@8
shrugs 185@8,195@8,205@8

Sunday off.

Since I started I have gone (exercises have been changed up) from weighing 5-10 180 to 205 and weight wise I have achieved the following:
max bench 205 to 280
curls curling 25 pounders to 40 pounders for reps
squat undetermined cause I haven’t maxed (no spotter, shitty form).