T Nation

Routine Check Request

Hello, all

I'm a rather puny 160lb. human (5'10") and looking to pack on some substantial mass. I understand this must strike you all as very novel, but please bear with me as you temper your surprise.

After poring over an abundance of articles on this site and elsewhere (as well as the beginners' stickies), I've hit upon the following routine. If it contains any egregious errors I'd be very grateful to whomever would correct them. Is the volume acceptable? Have I structured the routine sensibly? Should I replace or lose any of the exercises? Is a 4-day split ideal (I'm a student with a great deal of time on my hands, and have no trouble managing a 5-day split, if it's superior.)? Many thanks!

3 Sets of 8-12 Reps. for all exercises; 3 warm-up sets per muscle group

Monday: Chest/Triceps

(performed in the following order)

1. Flat BB Bench
  2. Incline DB Bench
  3. DB Flys
  4. Dips
  5. Skullcrushers or Pull-downs

Tuesday: Back/Biceps

1. Deadlift
  2. Pull-ups
  3. BB/DB Rows or T-Bar Rows
  4. BB Curls
  5. Hammer Curls

Wednesday: Off

Thurday: Legs

1. Squat
  2. Lunges
  3. Leg Press
  4. Glute-Ham Raises
  5. Standing Calf Raises

Friday: Shoulders/Abs

1. Seated DB Arnold Press (or Military Press)
  2. DB Lateral Raises
  3. Bent-Over DB Lateral Raises (Is this unnecessary?)
  4. BB Shrugs
  5. misc. Ab work

Sat./Sun.: Off

As for nutrition, I intend to consume a minimum of 3000 calories/day.

Well my opinion is that is suited more to intermediate trainer, but it would still work.

If I were you:

Monday/Wednesday/Friday

3 sets of 5-8 reps

Squats (back)
Benchpress (flat)
Military press
Deadlifts/widegrip-chins: Switch these two around from workout to workout so one week you deadlift twice and the next week you widegrip-pullup twice.