Rounded Back Deads

So while someone was trying to roast me,i got reminded that i deadlift with a round back. Now I used to deadlift with a straight back,but at some point in time i fkin decided it was a good idea to go for a max push press after heavy paused DLs and fked up my low back. For months and months i would try to straighten my back as much as i could,and i did it,but the pain was still there even after taking a month off. Fast forward to a month out from comp i remember that when i was a beginner up to 3 plates I used to cat form all my deadlifts and my low back never hurt,so against my instinct i tried that. I just bent over and grabbed the barbell,didnt try to round my back more,neither straighten it. The amount of core tension and leg strengh i was able to generate from that position was insane,and with ZERO low back pain. Fast forward 3 weeks after comp,did 530 in comp which is a 30lbs all time PR with rounded back and 0 pain afterwards and am continuing so. Could bracing really have this much more of an impact on low back health than keeping it straight. And im not talkimg about just thoraic rounding.

Bracing is a huge part of deadlifting and lower back health. Can’t say more than that without a Video of you deadlifting and the rounding you mentioned.

If you are used to ‘cat form’ hyper extended deadlifts, neutral spine may well feel ‘rounded’ to you, but having a neutral spine might explain why you suddenly were able to generate more force. Unless you never braced before in which case that could also explain it. I dare say I’d lose more than 30lb off my max deadlift if I didn’t brace properly.

Altho its a max effort,go to my profile and check my 530lbs,it was done with this form.