ROTC

Does anyone have any experience with the ROTC? I’m going into my senior year of high school so I’ve been thinking more about paying for college. If I were to get an ROTC scholarship I could potentially get $17,000 a year towards tuition.

Initially my main concern was what could I do in the army that would translate to something in real life. It seems like you gain leadership abilities as a trade off for the experience you could gain working in your field for 4 years.

I was also wondering if they generally allow you to continue studying after you get an undergraduate degree. I think the website said that students were sometimes allowed to do this. If I was a reserve officer would I only have to do the 2 weekends a month, 2 weeks a year thing, and have time to study full time?

Also if anyone has thought on private vs. public colleges. I’ve been looking at the University at Buffalo and SUNY Geneseo as two public school choices. My “safty schools” will probably be UB and Canisius College. Then “reach” schools would be Geneseo, and some private colleges along the lines of Clarkson and Fordham. My “praying for a miracle” school would probably Cornell. My cousin went there and liked it a lot, plus it has more prestige than the other schools I’m looking at.

I’m questioning whether or not the extra money for a private school is worth it if I’m not entirely sure what I want to do. I’m interested in biology and kinesiology but the strength coach/PT career outlook seems a little shakey to me. I could always just take some courses as electives or minor in one of those fields to satisfy my curiosity. A lot of kids from my school go into business and my aunt did very well in that field but I don’t totally understand what the field entails. Hind sight being 20/20 I should have done and internship at my aunts bank this summer. Any suggestions or thoughts on your college/post-college career would be appreciated.