Rotator Tendinopathy Causing Elbow Pain?

I have been lifting for approximately 10 years and have been having a lot of shoulder and elbow pain for the past year. The shoulder started a year ago and the elbow about 6 months after that. I recently got an MRI on both the shoulder and elbow which stated I have rotator tendinopathy in my right shoulder and absolutely nothing wrong with my elbow.

My doctor showed me the MRI and pointed to some fraying in the rotator which he stated he could clean up with a minor arthroscopic procedure.

My question is really regarding the elbow. The shoulder pain is manageable and really isn’t a huge deal currently. The elbow however causes me pain every day, and is severe after a training session. I have tried taking a month off and addressing it like you would tendonitis but it has only gotten worse. With a negative MRI I am pretty much lost as to why it is causing me so much pain.

I have tried to research but can’t find anything that says the shoulder tendonopathy will eventually radiate to the elbow. My fear is that I go through with the shoulder surgery, all the rehab and time out of the gym, only to still have an elbow issue. Does anyone have any advice or suggestions on where to go from here? Could the shoulder have caused the elbow pain? Thanks a lot!

[quote]JeffMerr wrote:
I have been lifting for approximately 10 years and have been having a lot of shoulder and elbow pain for the past year. The shoulder started a year ago and the elbow about 6 months after that. I recently got an MRI on both the shoulder and elbow which stated I have rotator tendinopathy in my right shoulder and absolutely nothing wrong with my elbow.

My doctor showed me the MRI and pointed to some fraying in the rotator which he stated he could clean up with a minor arthroscopic procedure.