Rotating Shift Work and Low Testosterone

31 year old male

I have been working rotating shift work for about 3 years now. I shift between days and nights. I have felt beyond tired and not motivated for about a year now. I went to get physical and asked if they would test for testosterone. Results are 273 ng/dl. The range was ~250-1100. I started this job in great health and have gained about 30 pounds in 3 years and rarely have the time or energy to exercise.

My first question is, how much does rotating shift work and lack of sleep effect your testosterone levels? Second is, being 31 and a level of 272, what are the chances of getting on T? Third, if I get on T, can I ever get off of it and be normal? I am hoping this lack of energy and other side effects are caused by my job and I am planning on having another job within a year or two.

So, I am hoping I can get on T for a year or two and then try getting off of it when I get more of a normal schedule to see what happens. Thanks for the advice.

Bad for your health in general. Messes up circadian rythm as well as cortisol rythm and this further disrrupts sleep. Ideally get out of the job but easier said then done. Lots of things to consider as it can be a loss of money, need to possibly retrain in something else and while doing this its hard to pay back the bills etc.I have done rotating shift work for over 20yrs and it destroyed my health. the last couple of years i have been able to move to a roster where i work day and afternoon shifts. It has greatly improved my health and energy.