Roadwork

I just had a great time doing a roadwork circuit. You can find more info in Mike Mahler’s article at dragondoor.

Well, here’s my circuit that I really enjoyed. I’d love to hear what others have done.

5 laps - 1 warm up, 4 work laps

Station 1 - tire strikes x 20 with sledgehammer
Station 2 - monkey bars
Station 3 - Deck Squats or Burpees x 5
Station 4 - Chins x 2
Station 5 - Push-ups x 10
Station 6 - Kettlebell Swings x 10 or Turkish Get-Ups x 3 with a one pood kettlebell

Then I finished off the workout by alternating 10 tire strikes with 10 kbell snatches or c & j's.

Lots of fun, lots of sweats, lots of odd looks and questions from the people walking around the track :-)

Anybody else doing some roadwork? What variations have you come up with?

Jason, I am not doing any road work yet, but your routine sounds killer. I am a freshman in college right now, and don’t really have access to all the stuff I need to do a good job of it. Let me ask you, how long have you been doing this, and what are your goals in doing it? I love work like this and can’t wait till I can start.
Danny

Pardon my idiocy, but why are you calling this roadwork? When I hear the term “roadwork” I think of boxers running.

I do roadwork but in a different manner, not as intense as yours put it that way. But mine looks like this:

5 laps: 1 at 2min., 2-4 at 2:30min, and 5th at 2min.

KB work at 3x15 30lbs. DB’s
Jump rope work at 3min x 20 V-sits, then I perform a big circuit designed by Coach Davis basically five sets of 400 yards in variations. Finish that off with an abdominal circuit that consists of 100 reps with 5 different positions.

Zev - read the article that I mentioned for an explanation, but it is roughly based on the type of training that some boxers will do.